Introducing Shawn Ritenour

With the site still in its formative stages, I have not yet put together a “Blogroll” of recommended websites. This post marks the beginning of that process. I plan to add one site every week or so until I run out of good ideas. All the sites will be linked permanently from the “Blogroll” section in the right-hand column.

My first recommended site is Foundations of Economics, the blog of Grove City CollegeProf. Shawn Ritenour economics professor Shawn Ritenour. I have known Prof. Ritenour for a few years now and have been impressed with his commitment to Christian scholarship. Earlier this year he completed and published an introductory economics textbook, Foundations of Economics, written from an explicitly Christian perspective.

You can read all about the book on his blog, but I would like to point out that it is written in plain English and also that it analyzes the basic framework of the market economy from the perspective of Christian theology. In my opinion, these two things make it superior to just about every other introductory economics text out there.

Prof. Ritenour is also an authority on the relationship between economics and culture; his doctoral dissertation dealt with the implications of State funding of cultural institutions. I highly recommend his work.

About Dr. J

I am Professor of Humanities at Faulkner University, where I chair the Department of Humanities and direct online M.A. and Ph.D. programs based on the Great Books of Western Civilization. I am also Associate Editor of the Journal of Faith and the Academy and a member of the faculty at Liberty Classroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment