Is Your School Ripping You Off?

College education is one big boondoggle, according to the authors of the new book Higher Education? How Colleges are Wasting Our Money and Failing Our Kids–And What We Can Do About It. The linked review summarizes the book’s arguments, which confirm some of my own observations from the last twelve years.

I’m hopeful that the “reckoning” in higher education these authors foresee will not harm the sort of school where I teach to any great degree. In fact, it seems to me that distinctively Christian schools could be a beneficiary of the backlash against the model critiqued in this book. Don’t get me wrong: small Christian schools have their share of problems, but highly paid faculty who only teach three courses per year and who “compost” their c.v.’s with frivolous scholarship are definitely not among them.

I intend to begin posting my own reviews of books in the near future, by the way. Some will be of new works like Higher Education?, but most will be more in the way of reading guides to classic works.

About Dr. J

I am Professor of Humanities at Faulkner University, where I chair the Department of Humanities and direct online M.A. and Ph.D. programs based on the Great Books of Western Civilization. I am also Associate Editor of the Journal of Faith and the Academy and a member of the faculty at Liberty Classroom.
This entry was posted in Academia, Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

