Mercantilism is Dumb

I usually try to make Great Books Project posts on Mondays, but the hurricane delayed last week’s post until Wednesday, and I am in catch-up mode. In the meantime, it was easy for me to knock out this econ post.

AdamSmith

The introductory unit of George Reisman’s study program in economics and capitalism focuses on the history of economic thought. One of the assigned readings is Book IV of Adam Smith’s Wealth of Nations, in which Smith critiques mercantilists and physiocrats.

As longtime readers know, I have already read and commented on Book IV as part of the Great Books Project. To check this reading off my list, I’m simply going to link back to the posts from a few years ago where I covered it:

The next reading in this series will be much more challenging, so I don’t feel bad about coasting on this one.

About Dr. J

I am Professor of Humanities at Faulkner University, where I chair the Department of Humanities and direct online M.A. and Ph.D. programs based on the Great Books of Western Civilization. I am also Associate Editor of the Journal of Faith and the Academy and a member of the faculty at Liberty Classroom.
This entry was posted in Books, Economics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment