Catching Up . . .

It’s going to be one more day before I can post observations on last week’s Great Books readings; I still have some of the Iliad before putting them together. But I wanted to go ahead and post this week’s readings for anyone who is more on the ball than I am:

  1. The Iliad of Homer, Books XVI-XVIII  (GBWW Vol. 3, pp. 189-233)
  2. On Education” by Arthur Schopenhauer (GGB Vol. 7, pp. 197-203)
  3. Second Treatise on Civil Government by John Locke, Ch. V-VI (GBWW Vol. 33, pp. 30-42)
  4. Federalist #58 (GBWW Vol. 40, pp. 179-182; Antifederalist responses are here)
  5. The Chemical History of a Candle” by Michael Faraday, Lectures I-II (GGB Vol. 8, pp. 368-390)
  6. The Way Things Are (or On the Nature of Things) by Lucretius, Book I (GBWW Vol. 11, pp. 1-15)

Look for comments on last week’s readings tomorrow.

About Dr. J

I am Professor of Humanities at Faulkner University, where I chair the Department of Humanities and direct online M.A. and Ph.D. programs based on the Great Books of Western Civilization. I am also Associate Editor of the Journal of Faith and the Academy and a member of the faculty at Liberty Classroom.
This entry was posted in Books, Liberal Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment