Playing Catch-up

It’s Great Books Monday, but I need one more day to complete last week’s readings; Mr. Gilbert eluded me through Sunday. For those of you who are more on top of things than I, here are the readings for the upcoming week:

  1. Moby Dick by Herman Melville, Ch. 76-92  (GBWW Vol. 48, pp. 154-188)
  2. The Virginia Constitution” by Thomas Jefferson (GGB Vol. 6, pp. 502-517; Query 13 of Notes on Virginia)
  3. Geological Evolution” by Sir Charles Lyell (GGB Vol. 8, pp. 319-324; Principles of Geology Vol. III, Ch. I)
  4. Of Cannibals” by Michel de Montaigne (GBWW Vol. 23, pp. 143-149)
  5. On the Loadstone and Magnetic Bodies by William Gilbert, Book V (GBWW Vol. 26, pp. 92-105)
  6. The Politics of Aristotle, Book V (GBWW Vol. 8, pp. 502-519)

With three standalone works this week, today is a great time for anyone who has been sitting on the sidelines to get his feet wet with this reading project. Take it at whatever pace you want; just take it!

About Dr. J

I am Professor of Humanities at Faulkner University, where I chair the Department of Humanities and direct online M.A. and Ph.D. programs based on the Great Books of Western Civilization. I am also Associate Editor of the Journal of Faith and the Academy and a member of the faculty at Liberty Classroom.
This entry was posted in Books, Liberal Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment