Donald Trump, Leftists, and Western Civilization

Regular readers of this blog know that I like Western civilization. I like its great traditions of literature, art, music, political thought, scientific reasoning, and many other things, all of which have their roots in the classical world and Judeo-Christian tradition.

So it irks me when people who should know better say that it’s inherently racist to say anything favorable about the West and its traditions. I have a long list of complaints against President Trump, but when he gave that speech in Poland a few weeks ago and said that the West was worth preserving, I thought it was a good moment for him, even if he did it in a neocon sort of way.

Then the left-wing commentators went nuts. I’m sure this was partly because they attack anything Trump says about anything, but I was really surprised at the vitriol they poured out against the very notion of the West. I thought at the time that I should write about it, but classes, baby, travel . . .

Fortunately, someone else did the writing for me. Go read Joseph Pearce’s piece, “Why Do Progressives Hate the West So Much?” at the Imaginative Conservative. It dissects key points in Peter Beinart’s Atlantic article, written in response to the Trump speech, that has received so much attention.

About Dr. J

I am Professor of Humanities at Faulkner University, where I chair the Department of Humanities and direct online M.A. and Ph.D. programs based on the Great Books of Western Civilization. I am also Associate Editor of the Journal of Faith and the Academy and a member of the faculty at Liberty Classroom.
This entry was posted in Culture, Current Events and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

