Our Troubles May Be Over

Yes, yes, I know it has been forever since my last post here, but I’m happy to say my troubles with GBWW portability that have prevented me keeping up with the Great Books Project over the last year or two may be over in the near future.

Take a look at this product.

I have been waiting for an affordable electronic version of the GBWW series for a long time. This tool promises not only the 60 volumes of text, but also cross-links to all the Syntopicon references for the Great Ideas. Watch the video at the site to learn more.

All of you should pre-order this immediately for two reasons:

  1. The price will double in a couple of days.
  2. The sooner they reach the needed pre-order threshold, the sooner they’ll develop the software.

I get no commission or consideration of any kind for recommending this, but do me a favor and help get this thing on the market so I can make Great Books Project posts from the road!

About Dr. J

I am Professor of Humanities at Faulkner University, where I chair the Department of Humanities and direct online M.A. and Ph.D. programs based on the Great Books of Western Civilization. I am also Associate Editor of the Journal of Faith and the Academy and a member of the faculty at Liberty Classroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Our Troubles May Be Over

  1. Greg Masone says:

    I recently purchased a cheap copy of the 2nd edition of the GBWW, sliced off their spines, and scanned them into my computer. I assembled them as a PDF and had Adobe Acrobat OCR them all. Took about two months to do, but I have 59 volumes digitized (one volume of Aquinas was missing from the original set.)

    I’ll share if you’re interested until Noet produces their electronic version (which I’m eagerly awaiting!).

    • Dr. J says:

      Greg, sorry for the very slow reply. This is amazing, and I would very much like access to the work you have done!

      • Greg M. says:

        Dr. J,

        I found your work email address online. Can I send you the link at that address? I keep the files on my Google Drive account, so I can send you a link directly to it. I’m not worried about copyright issues because both you and I own a physical copy too. But I don’t want to post them anywhere online either! If you have access to my email address through your blog you can email me from a different one if you like.

  2. fredrikcoulter says:

    While I own the GBWW(2), I wouldn’t describe it as “the entirety of the Western canon at your fingertips”. Even the Syntopicon includes numerous other works from the Western canon.

    On the other hand, if I didn’t already own the books in print form, I probably would be very interested in the electronic version. But I don’t have a problem tossing in a volume into a suitcase if I’m going on a trip.

  3. Excellent! I’m very late in seeing this, but I was still able to get it at half off, plus the academic discount.

Leave a Reply

