Christian Faith and Social Justice

Today I offer definitive proof (in case you were in doubt) that there is absolutely no consensus of any kind on social or political issues among people professing Christianity.

CFSJ-CoverThis month Bloomsbury Academic releases Christian Faith and Social Justice: Five Views, edited by Vic McCracken of Abilene Christian University.

The primary reason I mention the book here is that one of those five views is mine! I wrote the sections dealing with libertarianism. I critiqued and in turn was critiqued by a Rawlsian liberal, a feminist, a liberation theologian, and a virtue ethicist. In total, I contributed about 14,000 words to the volume.

My presentation of libertarianism focuses on the Non-Aggression Principle and its compatibility with scripture and natural law. In my responses to the other contributors, I offer suggestions as to how their social goals could be pursued via non-aggressive means. I did the best I could to display goodwill and have a collegial exchange, which is what the volume editor had requested.

Apparently, not everyone got that memo, and I was a bit disappointed with some of the other contributors’ replies to me. I was accused, among other things, of trying to create and preserve privileges for society’s oppressors, etc.

If you follow the link to the book’s Amazon.com page, you can see previews of several of the chapters and responses. If you have any interest in these kinds of issues, I encourage you to check it out. I learned a lot about the strong and weak points of the other perspectives in the process of contributing to the volume; their methods of arguing in particular were quite revealing.

There’s talk of creating a website for the book with supplemental materials for instructors who assign it as a classroom text. If that works out, I’ll create a permanent link on this page to it.

About Dr. J

I am Professor of Humanities at Faulkner University, where I chair the Department of Humanities and direct online M.A. and Ph.D. programs based on the Great Books of Western Civilization. I am also Associate Editor of the Journal of Faith and the Academy and a member of the faculty at Liberty Classroom.
This entry was posted in Academia, Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

