Fleming Tackles Euthyphro

I’ve posted before about how much I get out of reading Thomas Fleming, the president of the Rockford Institute and editor of Chronicles magazine. I know some readers of this blog will be interested in his recent post on Plato’s Euthyphro.

Euthyphro probably should have been the first or second Platonic dialogue we covered in our Great Books reading program, but I actually have not scheduled it yet. Plato sets it chronologically just prior to Socrates’s trial before the Athenian assembly, so it would have been logical to read it before we did the Apology. Hindsight is 20/20, of course.

At any rate, you’ll get a lot more out of reading Fleming’s discussion of the piece than you will from anything I will ever write on the subject. Fleming has probably forgotten more about the ancient world than I will ever know.

About Dr. J

I am Professor of Humanities at Faulkner University, where I chair the Department of Humanities and direct online M.A. and Ph.D. programs based on the Great Books of Western Civilization. I am also Associate Editor of the Journal of Faith and the Academy and a member of the faculty at Liberty Classroom.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment