Observations on the 21st-Century Student

I’m heading back into the classroom this week after a four-week hiatus (the longest I’ve had since becoming a full-time professor), so I thought it would be appropriate to post this article by a University of Maryland professor on the topic of the 21st-century student.

This author has an interesting perspective because his twelve-year break from the classroom helped to highlight the differences–both positive and negative–he perceives between today’s students and those from a decade ago. Obviously, his observations are subjective and anecdotal, but I noticed some similarities between my students and his.

Students, do you think this old man is accurately describing your generation?

About Dr. J

I am Professor of Humanities at Faulkner University, where I chair the Department of Humanities and direct online M.A. and Ph.D. programs based on the Great Books of Western Civilization. I am also Associate Editor of the Journal of Faith and the Academy and a member of the faculty at Liberty Classroom.
This entry was posted in Academia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

