Give the New “Gulliver’s Travels” a Pass

That’s what this Guardian reviewer says, anyway. We saw an extended trailer for this film when we went to the new Narnia movie a couple of weeks ago, and it looks completely ridiculous. The reviewer puts it this way: “Nothing of consequence happens other than a brief visit to Brobdingnag (inhabited by a single giant child), a battle with a treacherous general that nods in the direction of Robocop and Iron Man, and the climactic lesson in rock’n’roll that Lilliput needs.”

In other words, it’s a typical Jack Black film, so if you are one of his fans (I must confess that I think he is pretty funny), I guess you may want to give it a try.

Please don’t think, though, that you will be seeing any honest attempt at a dramatization of Jonathan Swift’s classic. For that, I’d recommend the Ted Danson miniseries from 1996. I can’t give an full and unqualified endorsement because I watched it in a hotel room in Paris with French overdubs and could only understand bits and pieces of the dialogue. But I could at least tell that it was faithfully following the storyline of the original.

About Dr. J

I am Professor of Humanities at Faulkner University, where I chair the Department of Humanities and direct online M.A. and Ph.D. programs based on the Great Books of Western Civilization. I am also Associate Editor of the Journal of Faith and the Academy and a member of the faculty at Liberty Classroom.
This entry was posted in Books, Culture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

