Tools for Serious Readers

With Christmas coming on, there might still be some folks out there looking for appropriate gifts for loved ones (or maybe even a little something for themselves). If you or someone close to you is a serious reader or would like to become one, some great encouragement can be found at Levenger, which proudly proclaims that it sells “tools for serious readers.”

Last week I ordered some book bungees as stocking stuffers for the family, mainly so that my kids will stop tearing up the books they’re reading when they attempt to save their places by folding down pages or breaking the spines. I also got myself a monogrammed bookweight, which I have been wanting since seeing one in Oxford University’s Bodleian Library while doing dissertation research. Nine years is long enough to wait to make sure you’re not impulse buying, right?

Most of the stuff at the site is high-end quality and not at all cheap, so don’t go overboard. But there are a lot of great things like desk sets, journals, and even furniture. The order I placed arrived at my house within a few days, so you have plenty of time to get in some Christmas shopping if you want.

One other note: I’ve made a minor reorganization to the links area of the site, dividing the links into “Blogroll” and “Recommended Links” sections. I decided to do this because some of the links I put on the site (like Levenger) are not blogs and therefore will not have their content updated as frequently. Also, as my list of links grows longer, it will be easier to keep track of them if they are subdivided this way.

About Dr. J

I am Professor of Humanities at Faulkner University, where I chair the Department of Humanities and direct online M.A. and Ph.D. programs based on the Great Books of Western Civilization. I am also Associate Editor of the Journal of Faith and the Academy and a member of the faculty at Liberty Classroom.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

