The Christian College in a Pluralist Society, Part II

The second installment of the article to which I linked a few weeks ago is now online over at ISI. I wrote then that I wanted to see how the author was going to develop this idea of danger to the Christian school in the pluralist polis, and he does in fact raise valid concerns. Of course, he is using the word “tyranny” in a way not everyone will countenance.

His fear of the “privatization of truth” may strike some as unreasonable. Many will no doubt object that we must always leave room for disagreement on such issues in the public square because we would be committing a horrible injustice if we enforced a view that we later learned was incorrect. I can imagine this author replying that all social orders are based on beliefs about what is true, and that the pluralist does not escape this problem by enshrining “tolerance” (or whatever one wishes to call it) in the public square.

For example, what if the tolerance of a particular behavior or belief in fact brings divine (or cosmic, or whatever) curses on society? If that were the case, a pluralist regime where such a thing were allowed would be disastrous for everyone.

I don’t want to put words in the author’s mouth, though. Just read the article for yourself and see if you think he is on target with his concern that pluralism creates “immense pressure to reject truth as a governing principle.”

I have not posted much in the last week. In case this fact outrages you, maybe I can assuage your anger by telling you that I have been helping set up two new multiple-author blogs, both of which I will eventually feature here. I am also going back to previous posts and adding tags to help anyone who wants to search the site for particular ideas. I hope to get back on track with daily or almost-daily posts here now.

About Dr. J

I am Professor of Humanities at Faulkner University, where I chair the Department of Humanities and direct online M.A. and Ph.D. programs based on the Great Books of Western Civilization. I am also Associate Editor of the Journal of Faith and the Academy and a member of the faculty at Liberty Classroom.
This entry was posted in Academia, Culture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

