More Great Books Blogs

Over the last several weeks I’ve been interacting with some thoughtful fellows who have established Great Books blogs, and I wanted to give them a little plug here.

First is Peder, who has just begun his own Great Books Project this month at A Great Books Reading Blog. From what I can tell, Peder is using the 10-year schedule of selected readings first suggested by Mortimer Adler in The Great Conversation (Vol. 1 of Great Books of the Western World‘s first edition). This schedule covers maybe one-third of the material in the GBWW series by my estimate. His reading schedule is thus much lighter than mine (though still much heavier than most people’s), enabling him to post more detailed comments about each of the works he reads as well as biographical materials about the authors.

Then we have Stan Szczesny–no, I don’t know how to pronounce it–who runs Stan’s Great Books Blog. Stan has already done what I am currently attempting, i.e. read through the entire GBWW series. He admits, however, that it took him ten years to do it . . . slacker! Having already conquered this Mt. Everest of reading, Stan posts on all sorts of topics related to the Great Books, other literature, art, and other things I’m probably not aware of. He posts something nearly every day, which is something I usually can’t accomplish.

So if you think I don’t post about the Great Books often enough, visit Peder’s and Stan’s blogs for your fix. I’m linking to both their sites in the sidebar.

About Dr. J

I am an Associate Professor and head of the Department of Humanities at Faulkner University. I am also Associate Editor of the Journal of Faith and the Academy.
This entry was posted in Books, Liberal Arts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Great Books Blogs

  1. Thanks for the plug! It took me 8 years, and I read a lot of other material along the way. I think you are also reading the Gateway to the Great Books, which I didn’t read, though I picked some of it up. By the way, if anyone reads and works out the proofs in just Newton’s Principia or Aquinas’s Summa Theologica, they are beyond slacker status. :-)

  2. Peder says:

    Thanks for plugging my blog too! You’ve got it right that I’m doing the ten year plan. I could maybe do it faster but with family pressures I want to leave some leeway. Any of your readers are welcome to come on over and read along. This month I’m still trying to figure out what Socrates was trying to do at his trial. Any help would be appreciated.

  3. lory says:

    Peder thanks for this beautiful blog and looking forward for your coming stuff…

Leave a Reply

