Introducing the Hogwarts Professor

Several weeks ago while doing an interview for the Secrets of Middle Earth podcast, I allowed myself to be talked into joining “The Tolkien Professor” Corey Olsen‘s weekly discussion group on the Silmarillion. So far it has been a great experience, and this week one of the seminar participants introduced me to the Hogwarts Professor, a blog that does some serious exploration of moral themes in literature, not only in the Harry Potter series, but also in classic works such as Jane Eyre.

The site contributors approach these works from a Christian and Great Books perspective and offer some great insights. After skimming the site for a while, I liked the content so much (even though I am not a Potter maniac) that I decided I would add it to my Blogroll. Check it out!

About Dr. J

I am an Associate Professor and head of the Department of Humanities at Faulkner University. I am also Associate Editor of the Journal of Faith and the Academy.
This entry was posted in Books, Culture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Introducing the Hogwarts Professor

  1. MattL says:

    Cool, I didn’t know you were part of the Tolkien discussions. I’ve been listening to the podcast and will have to see if I can hear you. My son loves listening to them too. I even enjoyed his recent talks on middle English and actually think I was starting to understand it a little. I started reading The Simirallion recently but haven’t gotten very far.

    • Dr. J says:

      The discussions started in December, and I didn’t jump in until the third or fourth one. Only the first two have been released to Corey’s website so far, so you wouldn’t have heard me on there yet. My first session was the discussion of Aule and Yavanna. This Wednesday we spent two hours discussing a six-page chapter and didn’t get through the whole thing!

  2. Brandon says:

    Looks like a great site. I’m considering reading Jane Eyre in the next conversation to coincide with the film’s March release. I’d be interested to read their perspectives.

Leave a Reply

