Am I a Hedonist?

My wife and I recently celebrated our eleventh wedding anniversary with the most expensive meal either of us has ever eaten. As if that weren’t enough, yesterday we went to Costco and bought a 37″ television (our first-ever LCD TV) and a Blu-Ray DVD player (also a first for us). I realize that even though we are years late to this technological party (in our first eleven years of marriage, we barely spent $150 on televisions, and we still do not have cable), for most people in the world, these things are almost unimaginable luxuries.

So, I’d like your opinion on this important question:

(I know this is a bit silly, but I am still trying to learn the WordPress interface, and I wanted to test out the poll tool. Please humor me and vote!)

About Dr. J

I am an Associate Professor and head of the Department of Humanities at Faulkner University. I am also Associate Editor of the Journal of Faith and the Academy.
This entry was posted in Culture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Am I a Hedonist?

  1. Vic McCracken says:

    This is a hoot, Jason. Thanks! BTW, have you read Peter Singer’s recent book, _The Life You Can Save_? He makes a utilitarian argument against our propensity to indulge in luxuries in the face of global poverty. You might find it stimulating. I think there are some flaws in his argument, but he’s a good author and an important public intellectual.

  2. I’m not sure that the two options provided exhaust the possibilities. Marquis de Sade is going a bit too far. Don Giovanni perhaps?

  3. Dr. J says:

    Vic, I know a little about Singer, but have not seen the title you cite. Thanks for recommending it.

    Shawn, I was afraid that if I provided more than two options, there would only be a handful of votes and it would look even more ridiculous. I guess I was wrong, though–seventeen votes at last count, and it seems that nearly everyone wants to salve my conscience!

Leave a Reply

